Click here for the Shop

Detroit Tigers

All Time Center Fielder

Ty Cobb

". . . the greatest of all ballplayers -- and an absolute shit."
-- Ernest Hemingway, 1948

Among the inital five players to be inducted into Baseball's Hall of Fame, "The Georgia Peach" is regarded as the best ballplayer of the "deadball era." Winning a record 12 American League batting titles (a record that has not been closely approached nor is likely to be broken), Cobb topped the .400 mark three times. He remains the Tigers' all-time leader in at-bats (10,586), runs (2,087), hits (3,902), doubles (664), triples (286), RBIs (1,805), total bases (5,471), stolen bases (865), on-base percentage (.424), and batting average (.366). An early Coca Cola invester, Cobb was worth 12 million dollars at the time of his death. Due to the fact that many of his opponents and the media disliked Cobb, stories about his violent nature and racist attitudes have persisted.

More Cobb Photos

Cobb Baseball Card


Manager Sparky Anderson
First Baseman Hank Greenberg
Second Baseman Lou Whitaker
Third Baseman George Kell
Shortstop Alan Trammell
Left Fielder Harry Heilmann
Center Fielder Ty Cobb
Right Fielder Al Kaline
Catcher Bill Freehan
RH Pitcher Jack Morris
LH Pitcher Mickey Lolich
Closer Frank Tanana
Designated Hitter Gates Brown

Jeremy Bonderman, Tommy Bridges, Jim Bunning, Donnie Bush, Miguel Cabrera, Norm Cash, Sam Crawford, Deivi Cruz, Hooks Dauss, Wild Bill Donovan, Damion Easley, Mark Fidrych, Cecil Fielder, Travis Fryman, Charlie Gehringer, Kirk Gibson, Carlos Guillen, Shane Halter, Mike Henneman, John Hiller, Willie Horton, Brandon Inge, Hughie Jennings, Todd Jones, Harvey Kuenn, Frank Lary, Chet Lemon, Jim Leyland, Aurelio Lopez, Heinie Manush, Dick McAuliffe, Denny McLain, George Mullin, Hal Newhouser, Jim Northrup, Magglio Ordonez, Dean Palmer, Lance Parrish, Carlos Pena, Placido Polanco, Edgar Renteria, Nate Robertson, Aurelio Rodriguez, Ivan Rodriguez, Kenny Rogers, Schoolboy Rowe, Gary Sheffield, Dizzy Trout, Bobby Veach, Justin Verlander, Fernando Vina, Jeff Weaver, Rondell White, Dmitri Young, Joel Zumaya


Ernie Harwell

All Time Teams      Best Teams      World Champions      1909 Tigers