Click here for the Shop

Detroit Tigers

All Time Team

Mark Fidrych

Mark "The Bird" Fidrych

Pitcher: 1976-80

Most famous for his "Bird" antics--crouching down on the pitcher's mound, fixing cleat marks, talking to himself, talking to the ball, aiming the ball like a dart, strutting around the mound after every out, etc.--Fidrych became a fan phenomenon during his short career, packing stadiums whenever he pitched. A non-roster invitee during the 1976 Spring Training, Fidrych pitched his way onto the team and had a fine year. He won19 games, led the league in ERA (2.34) and complete games (24), was the starting pitcher in the All-Star Game, won the American League Rookie of the Year Award, and finished second for the Cy Young Award. Unfortunately he tore the cartilage in his knee during spring training the following year and never fully recovered.


Manager Sparky Anderson
First Baseman Hank Greenberg
Second Baseman Lou Whitaker
Third Baseman George Kell
Shortstop Alan Trammell
Left Fielder Harry Heilmann
Center Fielder Ty Cobb
Right Fielder Al Kaline
Catcher Bill Freehan
RH Pitcher Jack Morris
LH Pitcher Mickey Lolich
Closer Frank Tanana
Designated Hitter Gates Brown

Jeremy Bonderman, Tommy Bridges, Jim Bunning, Donnie Bush, Miguel Cabrera, Norm Cash, Sam Crawford, Deivi Cruz, Hooks Dauss, Wild Bill Donovan, Damion Easley, Mark Fidrych, Cecil Fielder, Travis Fryman, Charlie Gehringer, Kirk Gibson, Carlos Guillen, Shane Halter, Mike Henneman, John Hiller, Willie Horton, Brandon Inge, Hughie Jennings, Todd Jones, Harvey Kuenn, Frank Lary, Chet Lemon, Jim Leyland, Aurelio Lopez, Heinie Manush, Dick McAuliffe, Denny McLain, George Mullin, Hal Newhouser, Jim Northrup, Magglio Ordonez, Dean Palmer, Lance Parrish, Carlos Pena, Placido Polanco, Edgar Renteria, Nate Robertson, Aurelio Rodriguez, Ivan Rodriguez, Kenny Rogers, Schoolboy Rowe, Gary Sheffield, Dizzy Trout, Bobby Veach, Justin Verlander, Fernando Vina, Jeff Weaver, Rondell White, Dmitri Young, Joel Zumaya


Ernie Harwell

All Time Teams      Best Teams      World Champions