Click here for the Shop

Founded 1901

Chicago White Sox

All Time Team

Eddie Cicotte

Eddie Cicotte

1905 - 1920 (Pitcher)

209 - 149 record, 2.38 ERA

In 1919 Cicotte won 29 games to lead the league in wins, winning percentage, and innings pitched, as well as in complete games. His 1919 salary was $6,000, but he had a provision for a $10,000 bonus if he won 30 games. As the season drew to a close, When owner Charles Comiskey ordered manager Kid Gleason to bench Cicotte at the end of the season to denying him a chance at the bonus money, it provided motivation for participating in the Black Sox scandal. He won one game in the 1919 World Series, but pitched poorly in the two games he lost. Cicotte was the first of the eight players to come forward and sign a confession and a waiver of immunity. He later recanted the confession and demanded a trial. Although he was found innocent by a Grand Jury, Commissioner Judge Landis banned him from baseball for life.

Manager Al Lopez
First Baseman Frank Thomas
Second Baseman Nellie Fox
Third Baseman Robin Ventura
Shortstop Luis Aparicio
Left Fielder Minnie Minoso
Center Fielder Fielder Jones
Right Fielder Shoeless Joe Jackson
Catcher Carlton Fisk
RH Pitcher Ted Lyons
LH Pitcher Billy Pierce
Closer Hoyt Wilhelm
Designated Hitter Harold Baines

Dick Allen, Sandy Alomar, Luke Appling, Albert Belle, Mark Buehrle, Eddie Cicotte, Eddie Collins, Jose Contreras, Walt Dropo, Jermaine Dye, Carl Everett, Red Faber, Freddie Garcia, Jon Garland, Ozzie Guillen, Sam Hairston, Roberto Hernandez, Tadahito Iguchi, Tommy John, Willie Kamm, Paul Konerko, Jim Landis, Carlos Lee, Thornton Lee, Chet Lemon, Esteban Loaiza, Sherm Lollar, Greg Luzinski, Jack McDowell, Bill Melton, Magglio Ordonez, Jorge Orta, Scott Podsednik, Carlos Quentin, Jim Rivera, Ray Schalk, Al Smith, Jim Thome, Jose Valentin, Javier Vazquez, Big Ed Walsh, Buck Weaver, Doc White, Wilbur Wood, Early Wynn



All Time Teams      Best Teams      World Champions      1919 White Sox      1917 Champs